Tribal Relations

Background & Outreach

California is proud to be the home for more Native American residents than any other state. The State recognizes and reaffirms the inherent right of these Tribes to exercise sovereign authority over their members and territory and is committed to strengthening and sustaining relationships between Tribes and the State.

Pursuant to Governor Brown’s Executive Order B-10-11,

"Agencies and departments shall permit elected officials and other representatives of tribal governments to provide meaningful input into the development of legislation, regulations, rules, and policies on matters that may affect tribal communities."

Brian P. Kelly, Secretary of the California State Transportation Agency (CalSTA) Business Transportation, is committed to establishing direct communication and positive relationships with California Indian Tribes on issues that affect the state and tribal communities.

To achieve this goal and to help guide Departments under CalSTA, an agency policy on consultation has been adopted. This policy will guide CalSTA and its Departments in their daily operations to work with California Indian Tribes.

Secretary Kelly has designated the following individuals as Native American Liaisons for CalSTA and its departments.

California State Transportation Agency (CALSTA)

Carol Farris
916-323-5401
carol.farris@calsta.ca.gov

CALSTA Departments

California Department of Transportation (Caltrans)
Lonora Graves
916-653-6315
lonora.graves@dot.ca.gov

California Highway Patrol (CHP)
Scott Gillingwater
530-242-4303
sgillingwater@chp.ca.gov

Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV)
Michele Ames
916-657-7980
michele.ames@dmv.ca.gov

California High Speed Rail Authority (HSRA)
Sarah Allred
916-403-0061
sara.allred@hsr.ca.gov

Office of Traffic Safety (OTS)
Randy Weissman
916-403-0061
randy.weissman@ots.ca.gov

California Transportation Commission (CTC)
Mitchell Weiss
916-653-2072
mitchell.weiss@dot.ca.gov

Board of Pilot Commissioners (BOPC)
Allen Garfinkle
415-397-2253
allen.garfinkle@bopc.ca.gov


Pursuant to Governor Brown's Executive Order B-10-11, "Agencies and departments shall permit elected officials and other representatives of tribal governments to provide meaningful input into the development of legislation, regulations, rules, and policies on matters that may affect tribal communities."  [Executive Order B-10-11]


;Blue curve Government image



CalSTA Tribal Liaison

Carol Farris
tribalrelations@calsta.ca.gov
916-323-5401